Embrace Change … or Not?

Embrace Change ... or Not?

I stopped at a traffic light the other day and read a statement that caught my attention at a man’s shirt. It says “Wave of Change” and the layout of the word resembles a wave of water.

My first response to it was “I wonder what his company was trying to convey with getting every employee to wear this shirt…”

It then got me thinking about a conversation I had with my brother several years ago. We were talking about change and the integrality of it in our lives.
Change is something natural. Every living being goes through change, it is only normal.

If so is the case, why then the word CHANGE can cause such a strong negative reaction in some people? Change is feared. Change is often resisted and rejected.

It is true that change comes with adjustments. And adjustments may come with some level of discomforts. It may require us to learn new things, go back to dictionary or manual a few times. It may require us to listen more, pay attention more. It may also bring us to moment(s) of uncertainty.

This uncertainty is what often leads to fear.

But if we know that uncertainty is only for a little while and that change is good for us, how different would our response be to change?

Leave a comment